Loading Events

« All Events

The Voice Keeps the Score: Sound as a Portal to Embodiment with Linda Thai

May 2 @ 12:00 pm - June 6 @ 1:30 pm

May 2︱May 9︱May 23︱May 30︱June 6
9am PST / 12pm EST / 5pm BST / 6pm CET

Having a voice is a fundamental part of being human and allows us to connect to others in healthy ways: to communicate our needs and desires; to speak up when expectations have not been met, or when boundaries are over-stepped; and to connect and to share our innermost worlds.

When escape from a life-threatening or attachment-threatening situation is impossible, the body and the psyche adapt to survive. These adaptations can endure, particularly if they are successful in ensuring survival of the body and/or of the attachment relationship. The absence of agency, protection and a compassionate witness takes away our capacity for agency, effective boundaries, authentic expression, and natural voice.

This class series is intended for anyone who has had struggles with and is seeking to reclaim their physical and metaphorical voice! This can express as challenges around authentic expression, particularly around the communication of needs and boundaries. Particularly for femme folks, individuals in a body racialized by society, disabled bodies, neurodivergent bodies, and individuals who were traumatized as children.

Because silence equals safety, it can feel extremely dangerous and activating for the nervous system when we begin the journey of exploring and reclaiming our voices, needs, and boundaries. Perhaps you’ve been attending somatic workshops and boundaries workshops…and yet there’s something missing when it comes to interpersonal effectiveness. It’s the voice!

Linda Thai envisions a dynamic interactive playshop, where we learn about sound as the first portal to attachment and attunement, and then we play with various expressions of vocalization. And I get to guide you through various somatic cues that can enhance communication effectiveness.

Details

Start:
May 2 @ 12:00 pm
End:
June 6 @ 1:30 pm
Website:
https://www.linda-thai.com/programs/the-voice-keeps-the-score_